Part Three: Spring 2011


PART ONE

PART TWO

This article was written by guest writer, Miss. Stefie.

It’s not what you know, it’s who you know. But not only who you personally know—also who your parents know, who your friends know, who your previous employers or coworkers know, and so on.

After six long months, I was once again living in the same area as my parents and most of my friends. It was awesome. After a few days to get settled in, I began calling my previous jobs to see if they had any openings. In the meantime, I did some work for my father. A week after my return to the area, I picked up my old part-time modeling job at the community college and another gig at the arts center a couple of towns over. A week after that, I was re-hired as a part-time sales associate at “Bargaintopia”. Two weeks later, I was working two days a week at the Utica Zoo, as though I had never left. All the while, I was holding out for my dream job. The four aforementioned jobs were nice to have, but what I really wanted to do was work in a library. Perhaps a short explanation is in order:

My father loves to talk about my future. Every few months he delivers what I have dubbed the “YOUR FUTURE” speech. In the most recent “YOUR FUTURE” speeches, he had decided that I should go to grad school (didn’t happen), get a good job in Glens Falls (didn’t happen), consider moving back home after John left his school program (happened, but several months after the fact), maybe you can see a pattern forming here. In any case, it was about time he had a suggestion that was both sensible and feasible. It was on his advice I took a series of online career tests.

For the most part, online career tests are a waste of time and a big scam to get you to pay for your results after having spent an hour to take the test. But if you take enough of them and read enough personality mumbo-jumbo, sometimes they are not completely and utterly useless. It was in this fashion that I decided I wanted to try librarianship.

While scouring the online job boards for public service work, I finally found the perfect position: Library Assistant – Youth Services. I read through the job description. I was still interested. Read through the qualifications, and in an incredible stroke of good fortune, I was qualified. I must apply for this job! Scroll all the way down to the bottom, “If interested, please fill out this application and e-mail along with your resume to…” Do I know that name? That name is familiar! How do I know that person?

I often get the impression that my parents are somehow acquainted with everyone in the county. Time to call my dad. “Of course you know her! That’s Bob’s wife. You know her from church and from the blues trio. Didn’t you know she’s the director of the library?” I am beside myself with excitement. After attempting to download the application and receiving only a blank document, I call the library and ask for the director. She answers, recognizes my name, is happy to hear from me, seems excited to have me apply for the job, makes sure I know it’s competitive, asks if I’m qualified, no she didn’t know I was moving back to the area, it’s so good to hear from me…

A month after moving, I get a phone call from the library. I have an interview. I see the library director a few times before then, she is very friendly and says nothing about my potential future job. I go in for the interview, meet with her and the children’s librarian, answer all their questions, and eave feeling hopeful. They said they’re interviewing for the rest of this week and the next week, and they’ll make their decision about a week after that. Whenever I see the director in church, I want so badly to ask how far they are from a decision. She gives no indication of my standing. The three weeks pass. I get a phone call. It’s her. She wants to offer me the job if I’m still interested. Of course I’m still interested! I go in at the end of the week to fill out paperwork. I am elated.

Back up for a moment. Look at that second paragraph. This job at the library will be 15 hours per week. I can’t abandon the job at the zoo, they need me those two days per week, at least until they hire someone new. That’s 18 hours per week. Bargaintopia was very good to hire me back, I can’t just leave after a month and a half of working for them again, I’ll stay on for a while longer, at least until inventory is over, the hours are mostly different anyway. 15 hours per week. I can’t leave the community college in the lurch, they don’t have many other dependable models. 12 hours per week. And I can’t just up and quit on my dad, he’s my dad! 5 hours per week. If you’ve been keeping up, that amounts to about 65 hours per week. Okay, I can do this.

And I do. I keep it together with the help of my day planner. I’m hardly ever home, I sometimes have to skip meals to make it everywhere on time, but I’m doing it. It’s about a month before I start losing my mind.

CHECK BACK THIS WEEKEND FOR THE CONCLUSION!

About sendmeonmyway101

I graduated in May. I don't have a job. I'm living with my parents. I'm a Stay At Home Daughter.

Agree, Disagree? Have At It.

